I Promise You

I saw the smile in your eyes fading,
watched the spark of hope grow dim
when for the future we were making
I allowed my angst to wear you thin.

My emotional attachment is poorly chosen,
for you are who I should most hold on to,
without burdening your heart, your mind
with such unnecessary waste of time

As upon which I could not control, I dwelt
stressed until even you felt the break
when we almost could no longer undo my mistake
leaving me alone to toil on this fate as well.

Please listen for here is my final vow
and apology for bringing us down
this path that almost led us apart,
allowed doubt to enter our hearts.

I promise to be quiet, but stronger
in matters of my professional discord
for this space I work is not forever, I know
and I would rather work to make your heart home.