Choreography


My sorrows clashed
But your spirit still ran free
I just now realized
I was dancing in the shadows of your glory
I can trace the bent halo, the tattered wings
All back to you
You made me your angel in secret
Your silent, secret angel
So, I followed your lead
Tied a ribbon around my eyes
While you shattered my walls
And only through them I managed to escape
Clinging to hope’s last strand
And now, though no permanent damage remains
The footholds in the mountain still give way, and I fall
But, every slip provides clarity
And allows the fear to subside
I’ve found strength in this lack of dependence
No longer do I dance
in the shadows of your glory
But am now the choreographer
Of the steps to a dance you’ll never master

Leave a Reply

