Legal Document


That pair of heels
you swore never to wear again
dig deep into my back
as I struggle to pull myself up
from off of the floor
where you left me months ago.

My throat has swollen shut
at the sight of your return-
I have rehearsed nightly
what I never did say when
even the shuffle of your steps
drowned out my humble voice-
and you muffle me still.

I did not solely endorse
any binding agreement
with the devil nor with god
on your behalf, but please know
I would have co-signed
to share all burdens to your name.

A lifeless fight rages on;
it grows weaker by the day
but will continue on
until our souls are joined
with the peace of understanding.

Leave a Reply

