Whole Again


I lept; I swore I would not.
but compelled by my own terms,
took the plunge through life.
And the clouds, the rain
with their morbid tamperings
with life, drug me down
through the mud and muck-laced
river I believed
would end all suffering
or at least fill the holes 
in my being with its deposits.

Inevitably, it left me tattered,
left me caked with filth,
like sin, for all the world to see.
It hid who I was, and still
internally was I empty.
With my soul riddled black
my humility crumbling from my flesh
in hopes of revealing new skin
I dropped to my knees,
raised my heart in my hands
to Heaven and was born again.

Leave a Reply

