My Best


In a year I might stand corrected
but today my fears were laid to rest;
the time I have spent mourning  your loss
has left me lost, has kept me losing
every hand and any hold that might have been my best bet-
the exposure of a me I never knew and cannot now be.

I was a version of me when with you that I can no longer comprehend, 
she is yours to keep in your eternal sleep and as I lay her to rest
your promise rings true in my ear that you are always with me,
and now I, the best version of me I was- for you- now buried deep,
am free to breathe.

Leave a Reply

