This Debt now Squared


There is no time like the present to edit this stance
but the blame, I am certain, is not in my court
and I cannot dwell like buoys upon these rough waves
to count endless possibilities on withering days.
If the rapport that we built is indeed this false
my closing statement held more truth than I realized
after my debt was fulfilled- the hunger satisfied.

I hope that your belly is still full dear lad
for a fool am I not at your expense
my gratitude for your service I owed is paid.
This transaction is complete, and my heart cannot weep
for loss any longer, for promises not kept.
Once our needs have been met,
is it so common for our eyes to go blind,
our ears to grow deaf?

Leave a Reply

