Times of Change


A great favor you had done,
when you told me to go…
Something in me heard you,
and I obeyed, I walked away.
No, embarrassed, away I ran.

Cautiously, I have since walked
these lines we retrace to stand
face to face with you once again.
I trust I would not dare budge
if you asked me, this time, to stay.

In these times of change,
I have come to find that I,
I was right to leave then, for me.
though, then, when you said to,
I thought it was to protect just you.

In confidence, I see
my will to leave subdued
that despite your habits formed
my ideals still bring you to mind
perhaps, after all, this is our time.

Leave a Reply

