The Changing Tide


Two weeks doesn’t seem all that long,
for the heart to grow increasingly fond,
to keep it waiting, keep it holding on
to be missing you when you’re gone.

But with each stint apart, I swear,
I will not allow thoughts of you to part,
will not suffocate the feelings that spark
with every goodbye when you embark.

A short time as it is we have spent
growing fond as the sun descends.
The warmth never fading, relentless,
and I enjoy every moment, I must admit.

Two years ago, my goodbye was no mistake
but I wish the steps we now take
will keep us as patiently in wait
for what could materialize, by fate.

How grateful I am for, then, walking away,
your initial dismissal; but continued patient display
that led to a reunion so finely arrayed
romantically accented by sunset over the bay.

Leave a Reply

