Only an Entity


I do not have all the time in the world
to make sense of this uncertainty.
I do not want to spend my life
in that cage where
I am just an entity.
I should be flying away,
stealing the air
and soaking up rays.
New was I someone who
took notice of a person, like you.
So, why here? Why now?
Since you came around
all I wear is this frown.
You are the top contender
in the game of letting me down.

No man is worth these tears
that I have cried, but
defending you, I
pushed them aside,
but everyone knows
that in the end,
my broken heart will mend.
So, tonight I will cry
a river of tears
and tomorrow, I will build a dam
to stop the flood in my heart
and do all that I can
to not wear this frown
because you are
the top contender
in the game of letting me down.

Leave a Reply

