Through the Cracks in the Walls Around My Heart


It was a fool’s game to play
opening my eyes and my heart
making plans with a stranger
holding our “future” in my hands

while smiling, in confidence
at thoughts I thought we shared
for growing love; I was prepared
while he, was preparing to leave.

So, hard rains washed away dreams
revealed the cracks in my reality-
the secret truth about you and me
that we were but an Autumn fling.

And, as the water seeped through,
flooding the ground about me until
sunk knee deep, I wished to drown
not my being, but the memories.

One thought on “Through the Cracks in the Walls Around My Heart

  1. Pingback: Apcoalypse Rising 041612 | My Writer's Cramp

Leave a Reply

