On Taking Breaks


Not my right, but nevertheless, I
find that my mind and my heart
will be, not surprisingly, dissatisfied
with the silence of this day.

In test of faith in the words you said,
the emotions supposedly displayed-
harbored feelings be not proclaimed
it is no wonder why I had to decide

that to withdraw and rebuild walls
was the safest, the surest way
to avoid the lingering plague of pain
that once again surrounds me.

How desperately different I wish
this reality could be, but unselfishly
it cannot be both this way and that-
hearts either stay together or they don’t.

Leave a Reply

