Reality


You are cut from the cloth
of the same haughty bitch
with whom I have fought
but failed to suppress

for years, perplexed
as you would surface
just in the nick of time
to continually remind

this hopeless heart of mine
to weep when it beats,
not take solace in sleep
fear that company I keep

will undoubtedly leave,
and I will hurt, will grieve
from the pain you present
in my effort to find peace.

Like clockwork, with ease
you find me each time
I lower my guard, run free.
You are harsh, my enemy.

Leave a Reply

